Day 10: A Pioneer’s Journey

Our first mentor speech of the morning was given by Alyssa Lovegrove, a professor of entrepreneurship at Georgetown University. She spoke to us about her startup company she had and her professional experience in London. Our second mentor was Rhett Weiss, the executive director of the Entrepreneurship and Innovation Institute at Cornell University. He talked to us about negotiating and had us participate in a negotiation simulation. From this I found that I am a terrible negotiator and should leave that work to a better professional. Our third speaker was Jonathon Perrelli who is a managing director and co-founder of  a venture capital firm in Washington, DC. He talked to us about his investment strategy and what he looks for in startups before he decides to invest in them or not.

Our evening was spent at the National Geographic Headquarters for a finale event. We were joined by mentors from the trip who are based in DC as well as the sponsors for our trip. We each shared what our projects were about and what we learned from our experiences from the trip. Here is a song that one of the participants from the trip wrote about the Millennial Trains Project.

Our last day together was spent at the Evermay Estate on the Georgetown University campus. We enjoyed our last breakfast and Pioneer’s Journey together before we all parted ways. I cannot be more thankful for everyone who donated to my project and believed in my idea. Part of what I have taken away from the trip is that I am considering starting my own consulting firm where I would go into universities and teach students about their finances. I am so grateful to have been able to spend these last 10 days with the most inspiring and hard-working individuals who now I am able to call my Millennial Trains family.

Image

Leave a Reply

